top of page
  • Writer's pictureMEYO

Google’s New Policy Limits Number Of Indian Vernacular Content It Will Monetise

Global tech giant Google has introduced a new clause in its publishers policy that will stop monetisation of new content, web pages and applications in regional languages that are not listed in their “support languages”.

Notably, Google only supports Indian languages like Hindi, Bengali, Malayalam, Marathi, Gujarati, Telugu, Urdu and Kannada along with English. However, the list misses several scheduled Indian languages like Assamese, Oriya, Punjabi, Manipuri and others.

Google’s publisher policy will come off as a disadvantage for content creators and entrepreneurs that usually caterers to these demographics and in their local languages.

According to the email sent to its existing publishers on September 30, Google highlighted that they will not allow new sites, web pages and apps to be monetised using AdSense, Ad Manager and Ad Mob if they are not primarily on languages that they support. The blanket ban will be applicable from March 30, 2021. The development was first reported by Opindia.


bottom of page